List of Approved Nursing Training Institutions in Nigeria

List of Approved Nursing Training Institutions in Nigeria

Nursing is a job in healthcare where nurses take care of people to help them stay healthy or get better. Nurses work in places like hospitals, clinics, and nursing homes. They help patients by giving medicine, checking their health, and talking to them about how to stay healthy. Nurses also work with other healthcare workers to make sure patients get the best care. Some nurses work with kids, some work with older people, and some work in special areas like mental health or emergency care.

If you also want to be a Nurse or a Midwife, there are accredited Nursing Schools in Nigeria that can train you to become a qualified nurse and after your graduation, you can have opportunities in various areas such as pediatric nursing, psychiatric nursing, geriatric nursing, and critical care nursing, among others.

List of Approved Nursing Training Institutions in Nigeria

Below is the list of Nursing Training Institutions in Nigeria approved by the Nursing & Midwifery Council of Nigeria (NMCN):

Follow the Link below to download the PDF file of the list in the event you want to save a copy. However, you will need a PDF Viewer to access the file which can be downloaded for free from your Application Store. Desktop users will be able to access using their updated internet browsers

Departments of Nursing under Accreditation Process

1Kaduna State University, Kaduna, Kaduna State
2University of Medical Science, Lagos, Lagos State
3Trinity University, Lagos, Lagos State
4David Umahi University of Medical Sciences, Ebonyi State
5Wesley University, Ondo, Ondo State
6Ekiti State University, Ekiti, Ekiti State
7Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State
8Benue State University, Makurdi, Benue State
9University of Uyo, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State
10Claretian University, Owerri, Imo State
11Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu, Osun State
12Nok University, Kachia, Kaduna State
13Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State
14Enugu University of Science and Technology, Enugu
15Khadijat University, Majia, Jigawa State
16Novena University, Delta State
17Ave Maria University, Nasarawa State
18Taraba State University, Taraba State
19Yobe State University, Yobe State
20Kwara State University, Malete, Kwara State
21Thomas Aderum University, Oko, Kwara
22Alex Ekwueme Federal University, Ebonyi State
23Well-Spring University, Edo State
24Tansia University, Anambra State
25Joseph Ayo University, Ilesa, Osun State
26Gombe State University, Gombe State
27Abundance Wisdom University, Akwa-Ibom State
28Al-Istiqama University, Kano
29Kebbi State University, Kebbi State
30New Gate University, Minna, Niger State
31Saisa University, Sokoto
32MAAUN, Kano State
33Veritas University, Kubwa, Abuja
34Edusoko University, Bida, Niger State
35Federal University, Otueke, Bayelsa State
See also  Colleges of Health Sciences & Technology in Nigeria


  1. Full accreditation status lasts for five (5) years.
  2. Provisional accreditation status lasts for two (2) years.
  3. Embargo on students’ intake is indefinite until deficiencies are rectified and resource verification visit conducted, and decision taken to lift the embargo by the board.
  4. Denied/withdrawn accreditation status is indefinite until deficiencies are rectified and re-accreditation visit conducted, and decision taken by the board.
  5. The above list is subject to periodic review. It is our hope that the above will serve as a guide to parents/guardians seeking admission for their children/wards

Leave a Reply